Banking & Commerce Discovering Qatar Education Health and Beauty Hospitality Infrastructure Motoring Oil & Gas Shopping Pearl Qatar
FIFA World Cup 2018

Facts and Trivia About the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™

Marhaba FIFA 2018 FActs and Trivia

This year, all roads lead to Moscow as everyone excitedly await the final matches of the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™! Aside from being the most awaited global football event of the year, the FIFA World Cup™ trophy is also football’s greatest prize and the most recognisable award in sport. How much do you actually know about it?

Here are some interesting facts and trivia about the coveted FIFA World Cup. Ticket Prices FIFA 2018

  1. Eight years in the making. Russia was chosen to host the 2018 FIFA World Cup on 2 December 2010.
  2. The 2018 mascot is a wolf. Named Zabivaka™, this charming wolf is the official mascot of the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™. The name means ‘the one who scores’ in Russian. Designed by student Ekaterina Bocharova, it was chosen via online voting.
  3. As host, Russia is automatically qualified for the tournament.
  4. Check your card. Visa is the only card system accepted at any 2018 World Cup stadium. 
  5. The most expensive ticket for this year’s matches is US$1,100. Russian fans, however, can purchase tickets at lesser price.
  6. Winners are engraved on the trophy’s base. Every nation to have won the World Cup since 1974 is engraved on the trophy’s base. 
  7. Golden trophy. The trophy, which depicts two human figures carrying a globe on their shoulders, is made of 18-carat gold and weighs over 6-kg and is 36-cm tall. It was designed by Italian artist Silvio Gazzaniga.

Groups 2018 FIFA World CupThirty-two countries will be participating in the 2018 Tournaments. Here’s a list, classified according to their respective leagues:

  1. Union of European Football Associations (Europe) – Russia (host), Belgium, Germany, England, Spain, Poland, Iceland, Serbia, France, Portugal, Switzerland, Croatia, Sweden and Denmark
  2.  Asian Football Confederation (Asia) – Iran, South Korea, Japan, Saudi Arabia and Australia
  3. Confederation of African Football (Africa) – Nigeria, Egypt, Senegal, Tunisia and Morocco
  4. Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (North America) –  Mexico, Costa Rica and Panama
  5. Confederación Sudamericana de Fútbol (South America) – Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina, Colombia and Peru

Various establishments in Qatar will be showing the games live from Russia. Check out the Marhaba listing for information about related promotions and game screenings here in Doha. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Copyright © 2019 Marhaba Information Guide. Marhaba is not responsible for the content of external sites.

To Top
error: Copyright © Marhaba Information Guide. Reproduction of material from Marhaba Information Guide’s book or website without written permission is strictly prohibited. Using Marhaba Information Guide’s material without authorisation constitutes as plagiarism as well as copyright infringement.