Gulf leaders signed the Al Ula solidarity agreement at the Saudi Arabian city of Al Ula this Tuesday afternoon, 5 January. The agreement is expected to pave the way to end the Gulf crisis which started in June 2017. 

The Amir of the State of Qatar, HH Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani signed the declaration along with the Kuwait Amir HH Sheikh Nawaf Al-Ahmed Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, Saudi Crown Prince HRH Mohammed bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al-Saud, Bahrain Crown Prince HE Salman bin Hamad Al Khalifa, UAE Vice President and Ruler of Dubai HE Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid, and Omani Deputy Prime Minister HE Fahd bin Mahmoud Al Said.

The Al Ula agreement was signed during the 41st session of the Supreme Council of the Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf (GCC), which is being held in Al Ula, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

The Sultan Qaboos Sheikh Sabah Summit was named in honour of the two great leaders of Oman and Kuwait – Sultan Qaboos bin Said bin Taimur and Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmed Al-Jaber Al-Sabah – who passed away last year.

Saudi Arabia has already opened the airspace, land and sea border with Qatar this Monday night, 4 January, as part of the agreement. More steps are expected to be undertaken in the coming days to end the crisis.

Qatar and Saudi Arabia Agree to Open All Borders