In celebration of Qatar National Day, the residents of Qatar are going to witness an exciting volleyball tournament at Al Wakra Stadium.

The full-day event will include six communities participating in ten teams. Top expatriate players from India, Pakistan, Nepal, Philippines, Egypt and Sri Lanka are going to showcase their volleyball skills at Al Wakra Indoor stadium.

Indian community which has a lot of prominent amateur players in Doha is fielding four teams. The teams are: ‘KMCC India’,  ‘INCAS India’, ‘YUVAKALA SAHITHI India’ and ‘QCMC India’.  Nepal community which is another prominent community with a number of talented players are competing with two teams named ‘Mount Everest NEPAL A’ and ‘Mount Everest NEPAL B’. The philippines community team named ‘FIVBA All Stars’ includes a group of talented plates excelled in the local tournaments. ‘Pharon Egypt’ is also preparing one of its best team to showcase the African power. ‘Pak Stars Doha’ is representing the Pakistani community with the leadership of its experienced captain Umer. ‘Golden star Srilanka’ is making its debut with the newly recruited players from Srilanka.

There will be a total number of nine matches which will start at 8:30 am. The final match will start at 5 pm and the closing ceremony will be along with the main programme at 7:45 pm. The prize money for the winner is QR5,000 and that for the runner up is QR3,000. During the prize distribution function, there will be a honouring ceremony for the retired Qatari volleyball star player Mubarak Eid who was known as Asia’s best spiker. And also, Yousef Ferdon who is as well a former volleyball player will be honoured in the function.

VoliQ, Volleyball loving Indians in Qatar is managing the event on behalf of the Qatar National Day 2013 Organising Committee. Special seating arrangements are made for families.