The opening round for Losail MX Championship kicked off on 17 October 2014 at the MX Track with the participation of fifteen bikes divided into MX1 and MX2 category.

In MX1, in the Qualifying session, the fastest rider was the South African Le Roy Botha, the runner up of the last season in this category. Le Roy made a lap time of 1.59.792 with a Honda bike. The Kuwaiti rider Meshari Shaibah was second also with a Honda, 2.01.724.  Mohammed Jaffar, who last season was registred in MX2, change this year to MX1 and did the third best lap timing, 2.02.401. After the Qualifying session, Jaffar said:

I have been riding in MX1 in the last years and I have achieved a lot of titles, so now it is time to change for MX2 for more challenging goals and new achievements.’

Regarding MX2, the Kuwaiti Barak Al Jasmi was the fastest in his category with a KTM, 2.07.595. His team mate, Moaath Al Ansari, was second with a time of 2.10.262. Al Ansari, the champion of MX1 last season, has changed to MX2 this season.

In the first race of the day, the Kuwaiti rider, Meshari Abou Shaibah, took the lead in the first three races but Mohammed Jaffar overtook Meshari and kept the first position until the end. The winner of the race, Jaffar was very excited for his win in the new category. He said:

First of all, I would like to thank QMMF, honestly every year it is much easier for us to take part in their events and we enjoy more  and hopefully this championship will be more strongest of the area and more people from international countries can race with us. Today the race was really tough, as usual, and I would like to dedicate my first win of the season to my coach Mohammed Al Balooshi as we have been working for this for a long time.. This season my confidence is very hard, because of the hard training and work during the past four months and I am well prepared for the season. Thanks to Balooshi Racing team, Adidas Kuwait, KTM Kuwait, Sungarde and Red Bull.’

The second place for MX1 was for Meshari and the third for Le Roy Botha.

MX1 race 2 podium October 17 2014

In the MX2, the winner was Barak Al Jasmi from Kuwait. The Bahraini rider, Hasan Nooraldin, finished in second place in his category and Mohammed Al Hattab ended in third place.

There was a photo shooting session opportunity with all the riders and authorities for the opening round of the season. QMMF President, Nasser Khalifa Al Attiya, said:

The level of the Losail MX Championsihp is increasing and the competitors are having more excitement in every season and hope that more rides will join us in the coming rounds to make a more challenging competition.

Jaffar was again the winner of the second race of the day. The Kuwaiti rider took the lead from the first laps and crossed the finish line with a difference of 40.783 ahead of Meshari Abou Shaibah who finished again second. The third place was again for Le Roy Botha.

In the MX2 category, in the second race, the winner was Hasan Nooraldin from Bahrain. Barak Al Jasmi and Abdullah Al Raqum both from Kuwait, ended in second and third place respectively.

Trophies were presented by Sultan Zaher Al Morraikhi (QMMF Board Member), Essa Al Awadi (FIM Asia Vice President) and Rashid Al Sulaiti (QMMF Public Relations Manager).

The next round of Losail MX will be on 12 November 2014.