Qatar Rally Team driver, Nasser Al Attiyah, and co-driver, Matthieu Baumel, have won the 2015 Dakar Rally.

Leading from day two all the way to the finish and going fastest on six stages, the Qatar Rally Team driver and co-driver recorded a 35-minute advance in the 9,000-kilometre, 14-day marathon rally. This is Nasser’s second win on the Dakar following his triumph in 2011. This is also a fourth consecutive triumph for MINI.

Al Attiyah took a dominant victory on stage 10 of the 2015 Dakar Rally, as X-raid Mini team-mate Nani Roma crashed out.

Al Attiyah’s fourth stage win of the event boosted his advantage to more than 28 minutes with main rival Giniel de Villiers dropping over four minutes with the fifth-fastest stage time. But while the run from Calama to Salta put a further dent in Imperial Toyota de Villiers’ victory bid, it was absolutely disastrous for 2014 Dakar winner Roma.

Roma’s ’15 event had already been ruined by an oil-pump problem on the first stage, but he had won his first stage of this year’s edition on Tuesday before rolling several times 120 miles into the 534-mile run on the 10th day. He and his co-driver were reported unhurt.

Al Attiyah’s nearest opposition came from Orlando Terranova, whose overall rally bid was thwarted on day four, with the third X-raid driver coming through 1m28s slower than his team-mate.

Despite de Villiers’ having a muted run to fifth the South African remains second overall, almost 15 minutes clear of fellow Toyota driver Yazeed Al-Rajhi, who was third-fastest on stage 10. Peugeot’s difficult Dakar improved slightly, with Stephane Peterhansel ninth quickest, but he remains 14th on the leaderboard.