In honour of the Republic of Tajikistan presiding over the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO), the Embassy of Tajikistan in Qatar this week invited members of the press for a media conference and a friendly lunch at the Diplomatic Club.

SCO, established in 2001 as a multilateral association to ensure security and maintain stability across the vast Eurasian region, was aimed at joining the forces of all member nations to counteract emerging challenges and threats and enhance trade, as well as cultural and humanitarian cooperation.

20 years of the SCO: Cooperation for Stability and Prosperity

Tajikistan’s SCO presidency will focus on at least five priorities, following the slogan of cooperation for stability and prosperity.

On constructive policy, Tajikistan will continue to assist in strengthening good neighbourliness, friendship and cooperation between member-states. The country also aims to contribute to internal consolidation, coordination of positions on regional and international issues affecting the interests of the organisation.

In terms of peace, security and stability, the new presidency will enhance practical cooperation in the fight against terrorism, separatism and extremism, drug trafficking, cybercrime, the spread of radical ideology and cross-border organised crime. It will also promote the creation of a separate anti-drug body to effectively counter drug trafficking.

On the economy, Tajikistan will adopt joint measures to overcome the socio-economic, financial and food consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic in the region and search for common approaches to the formation of financial support for SCO projects.

It will advance and expand cooperation in trade, finance, agriculture, energy and transport, as well as small and medium entrepreneurship.

Under the humanitarian sphere, the new SCO presidency will promote interaction in healthcare and environmental protection, among others.

It will continue to hold high-level joint events with the UN and assist in the adoption of the next UN General Assembly Resolution, ‘Cooperation between the UN and SCO.

The SCO currently comprises eight Member States including China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan; four Observer States – Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran, and Mongolia; and six Dialogue Partners which include Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Turkey.

More information about the SCO available here. You can also visit for updates and more details.