Northwestern University in Qatar Dean and CEO Dr Everette E Dennis was among the new members named to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences recently. 

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of the United State’s oldest learned societies and independent policy research centres, convening leaders from the academic, business, and government sectors to respond to the challenges facing—and opportunities available to—the nation and the world.

 Joining Dennis among the election of the 228 new members are some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, as well as civic, business, and philanthropic leaders. They include winners of the Pulitzer Prize and the Wolf Prize; MacArthur Fellows; Fields Medalists; Presidential Medal of Freedom and National Medal of Arts recipients; and Academy Award, Grammy Award, Emmy Award, and Tony Award winners.

Don Randel, chair of the Academy’s Board of Directors, said he was honoured to welcome the new class of exceptional women and men as part of their distinguished membership.

Their talents and expertise will enrich the life of the Academy and strengthen our capacity to spread knowledge and understanding in service to the nation.’

In addition to Dennis, the 237th class of members include philanthropist and singer-songwriter John Legend, award-winning actress Carol Burnett, chairman of the board of Xerox Corporation Ursula Burns, mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani, immunologist James P Allison, and writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

Dennis has written or edited some 45 books that have been translated into 10 languages, as well as more than 200 articles, essays, and monographs about global media, media industries, media law, and management. At Northwestern’s home campus, he is a professor in the Medill School of Journalism and is cross appointed in the School of Communication. 

He has taught at five universities and was the founding president of the American Academy in Berlin and founding executive director of the Media Studies Center at Columbia University.

His PhD is from the University of Minnesota, his MA from Syracuse University, and his BS from the University of Oregon. A life member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the American Antiquarian Society, Dennis has held advanced fellowships at Harvard, Stanford, and the East-West Center.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on 7 October 2017 in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

For more information and for the complete list of new members to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, check out