The air bubble agreement between Qatar and India has been extended until 31 August, according to an announcement made by the Indian Embassy in Qatar last week via its official Twitter handle.

Air bubbles, also known as travel corridors, are systems established between two countries that allow carriers of both countries to fly passengers either way without any restrictions.

The agreement had expired on Friday, 30 July.

Qatar was scheduled to enter the last and final phase of COVID-19 restrictions on Friday, 30 July, but opted to cancel following the absence of more positive indicators. Travellers from India and from four other Asian countries – Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, and the Philippines – will be required to undergo a mandatory two-day hotel quarantine upon arrival to Qatar.

For more COVID-19 updates, visit

Check out Marhaba’s FREE e-Guides for everything you need to know about Qatar.