Following the recent release of Cabinet Decision No 9 of 2023, at least 12 categories are granted exemptions from mandatory health insurance in Qatar.

The first phase of the mandatory Health Insurance Scheme started on 1 February, with all visitors to Qatar required to have a health insurance policy. ​This is in accordance with Law No (22) of 2021 regarding the regulation of healthcare services within Qatar, which stipulates that all visitors shall be covered by the mandatory Health Insurance Scheme. The scheme will be implemented in phases to ensure a smooth rollout.

The decision aims to provide relief and convenience to certain groups, allowing them to enjoy healthcare benefits without the burden of compulsory health insurance.

The 12 categories are as follows:

  • Non-Qatari women married to Qatari nationals
  • Children of Qatari women married to non-Qataris
  • Widows or divorced non-Qatari women, unless married to a non-Qatari national.
  • Holders of temporary residence permits
  • Four domestic workers per Qatari citizen household
  • Detainees and prisoners
  • Orphans in care homes
  • Children with unknown fathers
  • Diplomats and their spouses and children under the age of sixteen
  • All transit passengers
  • Temporary entry travellers
  • Visitors with instant permits for a period of 30 days from their entry into the country

This decision is expected to positively impact the lives of thousands residing and visiting Qatar. The move aims to facilitate access to essential healthcare services and enhance the overall well-being of the mentioned groups.

For more information, visit

Additional report from Qatar Tribune 

Check out Marhaba’s FREE e-Guides for everything you need to know about Qatar.