The exit permit (travel notification) for government and semi-government sectors that are not subject to the Labour Law, exempting a category (5%) that are determined by the employer in the relevant sectors, will be abolished, starting on 19 March 2020.

Major Abdullah Khalifa Al Muhannadi, Director of the Visa Support Services Department at the General Directorate of Passport, said that based on this decision, temporary or final exit during the period of valid work contract is permissible without exit permit for employees in the ministries and other government agencies, public bodies and institutions, workers in the oil and gas sector and subsidiaries, employees of sea and territorial waters, workers in agriculture and irrigation, and those working in private offices as well.

He explained that a category (5%) of workers in the establishment will be excluded and should still submit an application with their employer for a final or temporary exit permit. He said that HR departments have been informed of the required procedures and steps.

These procedures have been activated through Metrash2 and through the Ministry of Interior website since 5 March to enable authorities in the relevant sectors to add names of employees included in the previously excluded category prior.

A text message will be sent to employees who are now included in the category.