The Qatar Rugby Federation are pleased to announce Qatar have won the rights to host the Asian Five Nations Rugby Division 2 Tournament. 

The Tournament which features teams from Qatar, Thailand, Iran and Malaysia will be played at Al Arabi Sports Stadium.  Playoff fixtures will be played on Tuesday 20 May, followed by finals on Friday 23 May.  All matches will be played in the evening (5:30 pm & 7:30pm).

Qatar Rugby Federation Director of Rugby George Hore said:

The Qatar National Team has a fantastic record in this international rugby competition, winning three consecutive divisional titles since 2011. Next month they will aim to make it four titles in a row and continue their impressive undefeated run aiming to win promotion to Division 1.’

Director of Rugby Hore is also enthusiastic about top level international rugby coming to Qatar so that many young rugby enthusiasts can see their local heroes in action.

The tournament schedule is as follows:

Tuesday 20th MaySemi Final 1(2) Malaysia v (3) Iran17.30Al Arabi Stadium, Doha
Tuesday 20th MaySemi Final 2(1)   Thailand v (4) Qatar19.30Al Arabi Stadium, Doha
Friday 23rd May3rd/4thplayoffLoser SF 1 v Loser SF 217.30Al Arabi Stadium, Doha
Friday 23rd MayFinalWinner SF 1 v Winner SF 219.30Al Arabi Stadium, Doha

For further information or to arrange interviews, broadcast film, take action photos or any press arrangements please contact Howard Bevan on 5538 5145 or email [email protected]