Under Law No 16 of 2018 on the regulation of non-Qatari ownership and utilisation of real estate, implemented in March 2019, non-Qataris may own and use properties in Qatar ‘in many areas according to conditions, regulations and procedures, which shall be determined by a decision of the Cabinet based on the proposal of the Committee for the Regulation of Ownership and Use of Non-Qatari Property’.

The real estate non-Qatari individuals and companies are allowed to invest in includes offices, shops, units and villas in residential complexes, and real estate development of land in specified areas, and is not limited to apartments and residential units. Cabinet Resolution No 28 of 2020, passed in October 2020, confirmed the areas in which non-Qataris may own and benefit from real estate, and the terms, conditions, benefits and procedures for their ownership and use of them. This encompasses the right to free ownership of residential units inside residential complexes and shops inside malls.

Owners of property worth more than QAR730,000 will be offered residency, as well as their family, for the duration of ownership, with residency given as soon as they finalise the purchase. Owners of property worth more than QAR3.65 mn will receive the same benefits as permanent residents regarding healthcare, education, and investment in some commercial activities. The Ministry of Justice is the one-stop-shop for all transactions regarding non-Qatari ownership of real estate.

Freehold Developments

The number of areas non‑Qataris can own and use freehold property has been increased from three to nine designated areas:

  • Al Qassar (administrative area 60)
  • Al Dafna (administrative area 61)
  • Onaiza (administrative area 63)
  • West Bay (66)
  • The Pearl Island (66)
  • Lusail (69)
  • Al Khraij (69)
  • Jabal Theyleeb (69)
  • Al Khor Resort (74)

Foreign companies can also own properties in these nine areas. The law offers an attractive new investment model to Qatar, offering 100% guaranteed return on investment in these areas.

Leasehold Developments

Non‑Qataris can use real estate property for 99 years in 16 designated areas:

  • Msheireb (area 13)
  • Fereej Abdelaziz (14)
  • Doha Al Jadeeda (15)
  • New Al Ghanim (16)
  • Al Refaa and Old Al Hitmi (17)
  • Aslata (18)
  • Fereej Bin Mahmoud (22 and 23)
  • Rawdat Al Khail (24)
  • Mansoura and Fereej Bin Dirham (25)
  • Najma (26)
  • Umm Ghuwailina (27)
  • Al Khulaifat (28)
  • Al Sadd (38)
  • Al Mirqab Al Jadeed and Fereej Al Nasr (39)
  • Doha International Airport area (48)

All of these areas can be found on the map of Greater Doha in the Discovering Qatar e-guide.

Developers and Real Estate Agents Selling Property and Land (for letting agents see Living in Qatar)

Cushman & Wakefield 4483 7388

Direct Real Estate 4442 1472

Just Real Estate 4491 3300

New Methods 4410 8000

United Development Company  4409 5155