Sri Lanka has revised its previous decision to ban for two weeks starting 1 July all passengers from Gulf countries including Qatar provided they follow certain conditions.

Sri Lankan government said yesterday that the restriction was imposed due to the high number of passengers from the Middle East who are testing positive for COVID-19 on arrival to the said country.

In a statement today issued by Civil Aviation Authority of Sri Lanka (CAASL) Director General Capt Themiya Abeywickrama, the earlier travel ban was revised. The statement said:

“In according with instructions received from the Ministry of Health and the National Operations Centre for Prevention of COVID-19 Outbreak (NOCPCO) the passenger restriction on the following 6 Countries (Qatar, Oman, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait) is revoked with immediate effect on the following conditions:

  • All arriving passengers must have a negative PCR Test obtained within 96 hours prior to departure. Airline to ensure this before boarding passengers.
  • Antigen tests cannot be accepted as a pre-departure test for boarding.
  • PCR test must be presented from a Government approved hospital/laboratory in the respective country with a QR Code/Bar Code.
  • Airlines must satisfy themselves of the authenticity of the test reports presented by the passengers.
  • Passengers are permitted to arrive only for Hotel Quarantine or through the Sri Lanka Tourism Bio-Bubble Route.

Check out Marhaba’s FREE e-Guides for everything you need to know about Qatar.