The World Innovation Summit for Education (WISE), an initiative of Qatar Foundation, is now accepting submissions for the 2019 WISE Prize for Education – the first distinction of its kind to recognise outstanding, world-class contributions to education.

Established in 2011 by QF Chairperson HH Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, the WISE Prize for Education raises the status of education by giving it similar prestige enjoyed in other areas for which international recognition exists, such as literature, peace, and economics. The WISE Prize for Education Laureate(s) will receive a US$500,000 cash prize to help them continue their work in education, along with a Gold Medal.

As well as celebrating outstanding education leaders, the WISE Prize also supports recipients to shape the future of education, providing Laureates with tailored support over two years to grow their initiative further. Deadline for submission of nominations is on 26 February 2019, 1 pm GMT.

Nominees are judged according to strict criteria. Nominated individuals or teams of up to six people are expected to show commitment to education, demonstrate their capacity to generate positive systemic change through their leadership, and prove that their projects have sustainable impact.

For 2019, a panel of independent judges will select 12 WISE Prize finalists, who will then be required to submit a proposal outlining how they aim to use the WISE Prize funds. The jury will review proposals during the final evaluation period, before selecting the 2019 WISE Prize for Education Laureate(s).

The winner will be announced during the opening plenary of the 2019 WISE Summit, which will take place in Doha from 28 – 30 October 2019. The Laureate(s) will gain global visibility and opportunities to collaborate through various platforms, including the global summit and WISE events across the world, and across WISE communications and publications.

Nominations for the 2019 WISE Prize for Education can be submitted online through this link:

Cover Image: WISE Prize for Education Laureate 2017, Dr Patrick Awuah.