Banking & Commerce Discovering Qatar Education Health and Beauty Hospitality Infrastructure Motoring Oil & Gas Shopping Pearl Qatar

The FIFA World Cup™ Logos

On 3 September 2019, Qatar revealed the Official Emblem of the 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™ at 20:22 (8:30 pm Qatar) around the world.

The emblem’s design embodies the vision of an event that connects and engages the entire world, while also featuring striking elements of local and regional Arab culture and allusions to the beautiful game.

The swooping curves of the emblem represent the dovelike movement of  Qatar’s desert dunes and the unbroken loop depicts both the number eight – a reminder of the eight astonishing stadiums that will host matches – and the infinity symbol, reflecting the interconnected nature of the event. In addition to echoing the shape of the iconic FIFA World Cup Trophy, the emblem’s central form takes inspiration from a traditional woollen shawl. During winter months, shawls are worn around the world and in the Arab and Gulf region in particular in various styles.

The intricate embroidered detail that often adorns shawls in the Arab world is featured and takes inspiration from various cultures across Asia, celebrating the continent’s second hosting of a FIFA World Cup™ tournament and Qatar’s diverse population. The regionally inspired winter garment also alludes to the tournament’s start dates and the fact that it will be the first FIFA World Cup™ to be played in November and December.

The new typeface created to accompany the emblem reimagines traditional Arabic calligraphy in a new, contemporary font, taking inspiration from the region and Asia, and fusing tradition with modernity.

The FIFA World Cup™ emblems

Taking place every four years, the FIFA World Cup™ is the most awaited and popular sporting championship in the world, watched by millions globally. It has been hosted in 17 countries thus far in Europe, Asia, Africa, North America and South America. The FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™ is the first time the international world championship will be held in the Middle East. A few countries including Brazil, Italy, France and Germany have hosted the FIFA World Cup™ twice.

The first FIFA World Cup™ took place in Uruguay in July in 1930. FIFA chose Uruguay as the hosting nation because the South American country completed 100 years of its first constitution and also because the national football team of the country won the title at the 1928 Summer Olympics. The most recent FIFA World Cup™ took place in Russia in June 2018.

Have a look at the 21 FIFA World Cup™ emblems from 1930 to 2018:


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Copyright © 2019 Marhaba Information Guide. Marhaba is not responsible for the content of external sites.

To Top
error: Copyright © Marhaba Information Guide. Reproduction of material from Marhaba Information Guide’s book or website without written permission is strictly prohibited. Using Marhaba Information Guide’s material without authorisation constitutes as plagiarism as well as copyright infringement.